Thursday, 30 October 2014

Lily Does L.A - Nicola Doherty

Lily Does L.A. (Girls On Tour BOOK 2)Lily Does L.A. by Nicola Doherty
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The second instalment in this hilarious, romantic and unputdownable five-part series. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk's I Heart... novels.

Lily is an actress. At least, that's what she tells people, even though she's currently working in a call centre and her last big part was an ad for Sofa Warehouse. So when she's invited to her cousin Alice's wedding in LA, it's a dream come true. Alice's fiancé Sam is actually a Hollywood agent; how can Lily fail to get talent-spotted? There's only one problem; not only is Lily banned from mentioning acting, parts or producers to Sam, she's expected to spend the entire week doing wedding-related prep (read: chores) with Sam's boring groomsman Jesse. But Lily firmly believes that rules were made to be broken ...

Girls on Tour is an irresistible series of interlinked stories about four friends, ordinary girls who have extraordinary fun in faraway places. Expect the unexpected, the utterly hilarious and unforgettable, on this rollercoaster ride of love, laughs, surprises and sparks. You have a VIP pass to join each girl's adventure, so pack your bags and buckle your seatbelts, because just about anything is possible...



This is the second installment of the 'Girls on Tour' series and I have to say that this one, Lily does LA is my favourite so far.

I love Nicola Doherty's writing, it is humourous, fun and just pure chick lit, this short story is everything her full length novels have to offer.

This is about Lily, she is a British actress, but other than having the odd commercial, ends up paying the bills by working in a call centre; waiting for her big break. Lily decides enough is enough, she can't take working where she is any longer and after being sacked for putting on accents, (which she is sure actually helps sell the product) she decides to go to LA to help her cousin plan her wedding.

Although this is a short story, so much happens in it, I felt completely satisfied reading it and loved Doherty's writing style. It is so smooth and enjoyable. For me I really enjoyed it and loved the wedding planning aspect of the story. I felt I was with Lily and fell in love with her right from thje start.

Jesse is also a bit hit with me and I adored the day they spent together, Jesse helping her run errands. I particularly love the interaction that happens between Lily and Alice's best friend, I had my mouth wide open while reading it as I could not believe what she was doing.

When writing a review for a short story it is really hard not to give the whole plot away, this is certainly a series you need to read, especially if you lobe Lindsey Kelk or Sophie Kinsella.

I cannot wait to read the third in the installment. I would like to thank the publisher for sending this in exchange for an honest review.

No comments:

Post a comment