Tuesday, 13 May 2014

10 Summer Titles I am looking forward to - Boutofbooks10 Read-a-thon

Welcome to Tuesday's challenge!

Today is the second day of the #boutofbooks10 read-a-thon and the lovely Shannon over at rivercityreading has created today's challenge. Today I have to list my 10 summer titles I am most looking forward to reading. These can be from my shelves or books that are due out, so I have a mixture of both. I hope you enjoy reading this post and perhaps find your next summer read!

  1. What A Girl Wants - Lindsey Kelk
This book is due for release in July this year and this is one of those books top of my list! I cannot wait to read it! Last year I was lucky enough to go to a VIP author Q and A on Lindsey's then current release About a Girl, and I enjoyed that immensely. 

Blurb:  Tess Brookes was the girl with a plan. Now she's the girl with a choice. Should she stay in London and start her own advertising agency with her best friend and potential boyfriend Charlie? Or should she head to exciting Milan to pursue both a new career as a photographer and a new man, the enigmatic and elusive (and highly irritating) Nick? For the first time, Tess has to choose between the life she always dreamed of and a future she never imagined possible. With her heart and her head pulling her in different directions, Tess has to make a life-changing decision about What a Girl Wants.

2. The Beach Hut Next Door - Veronica Henry 

This is another book that is due to be released in July and another that I really to read, however her previous novel The Beach Hut I have sitting on my shelf and it has not been read! So that is also another must read for me this summer. 

Blurb: Summer appeared from nowhere that year in Everdene . . . and for those lucky enough to own one of the beach huts, this was the summer of their dreams. For Elodie, returning to Everdene means re-awakening the memories of one summer fifty years ago. A summer when everything changed. Vince and his brother are struggling to come to terms with the death of their father - but they have very different ways of coping. And for Jenna, determined to put the past behind her, the opportunity to become 'the ice cream girl' once again might just turn her life around. But this summer is not all sunshine and surf - as secrets unfold, and some lives are changed for ever . . .

3. The Beach Hut  - Veronica Henry

So this book I have chilling on my book shelf and has been for a long time! I really want to read The Beach Hut Next Door but I need to read this one first! So I am hoping to get to this one very soon!!!

blurb:  'FOR SALE: a rare opportunity to purchase a beach hut on the spectacular Everdene Sands. "The Shack" has been in the family for fifty years, and was the first to be built on this renowned stretch of golden sand...' Jane Milton doesn't want to sell her beloved beach hut, which has been the heart of so many family holidays and holds so many happy memories. But when her husband dies, leaving her with an overwhelming string of debts, she has no choice but to sell. THE BEACH HUT follows the stories of the people who own the beach huts, families who come to Everdene each year, people who fall in - or out of - love, remembering their pasts, or trying to forget them...

4. The Summer Without You - Karen Swan

This book I won through Twitter and I am really excited to get the opportunity to read it. It is however quite a chunky book and one I think that will be perfect for my holiday, so I intend to take it away with me. This book is due out later this month. 

Blurb: Rowena Tipton isn't looking for a new life, just a new adventure, something to while away the months as her long-term boyfriend presses pause on their relationship before they become engaged. But when a chance encounter at a New York wedding leads to an audition for a coveted houseshare in The Hamptons - Manhattan's elite beach scene - suddenly a new life is exactly what she's got.
Stretching before her is a summer with three eclectic housemates, long days on white sand ocean beaches and parties on gilded tennis courts. But high rewards bring high stakes and Rowena soon finds herself caught in the crossfire of a vicious intimidation campaign. Alone for the first time in her adult life, she has no-one to turn to but a stranger who is everything she doesn't want - but possibly everything she needs.

5. Two Weddings and a Baby - Scarlett Bailey

This has been a very anticipated book of the year for me. I read Scarlett's Christmas read earlier this year and I loved it! It was my first experience of Scarlett, I know where have I been right? So this one is a must read for me! This is due out middle of June. I also love how its got previous characters in it from her Christmas read. 

Blurb: From reluctant bridesmaid, to accidental mother. Tamsyn Thorne has not been back to her home town of Poldore for five long years. But now her brother, Ruan, is about to get married and she has no excuses left. Her plans to arrive in Cornwall looking chic and successful are dashed when a huge storm turns her from fashion goddess to a drowned rat. Worse, she ends up insulting the local hunky vicar - and then finds a tiny baby abandoned in his churchyard.

6. Anna and the French Kiss - Stephanie Perkins 

This is a YA book that I have sitting on my shelf to be read! This is another one of those books that has had a lot of hype about it and everyone has said its fabulous! I can not wait to read it and I am hoping to get round to it by the summer! 

Blurb: Anna is less than thrilled to be shipped off to boarding school in Paris, leaving a fledgling romance behind - until she meets Etienne St Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Etienne has it all... including a girlfriend. But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with a longed-for French kiss?

7. Panic - Lauren Oliver 

This book I was very excited about, I have heard a load of great things about it on Booktube and I couldn't wait to get my hands on a copy!! Finally I bought it and now cannot wait to get round to reading it. It sounds like it could be very promising!

Blurb: Panic began as so many things do in Carp, a poor town of twelve thousand people in the middle of nowhere: because it was summer, and there was nothing else to do. Heather never thought she would compete in panic, a legendary game played by graduating seniors, where the stakes are high and the payoff is even higher. She'd never thought of herself as fearless, the kind of person who would fight to stand out. But when she finds something, and someone, to fight for, she will discover that she is braver than she ever thought. Dodge has never been afraid of panic. His secret will fuel him, and get him all the way through the game; he's sure of it. But what he doesn't know is that he's not the only one with a secret. Everyone has something to play for. For Heather and Dodge, the game will bring new alliances, unexpected revelations, and the possibility of first love for each of them-and the knowledge that sometimes the very things we fear are those we need the most.

8. To All The Boy's I'v Loved Before - Jenny Han

This is another one of those books doing the rounds on Booktube! And another YA that I can't wait to read! I have heard so many great things about this book, I love books that are a little different and this sounds like it will be right up my street.

Blurb: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister's ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

9. After the Honeymoon - Janey Fraser

I have not heard a lot about this book. However from reading the blurb it sounds like something I would really love to read. I also have never heard of Janey Fraser before and am really excited about it. This book is due to be released later this month so I will be rushing out to get a copy. 

Blurb: Two couples, one honeymoon destination, and enough secrets to end both marriages. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell How can one honeymoon cause so much trouble? Much as Emma loves Tom, she would never have got married if he hadn't insisted. But with Tom sick for the whole week, shouldn't she at least take advantage of the entertainment? Winston married Melissa after a three-month whirlwind romance. As a breakfast TV fitness star, he's anxious to keep things private. But the arrival of Melissa's two children soon puts paid to that. Rosie arrived at the Villa Rosa homeless and pregnant when she was just seventeen. Now, sixteen years later, she runs the place. However, the appearance of Winston throws her into confusion. He might not remember her, but she has never forgotten him. By the end of the week, none of their lives will be the same. But how will they cope after the honeymoon is over?

Right the last book I have no cover for as it has not been released yet!!! I am SOOOOOOO excited about this one. I am jumping up and down about this book already as it is by one of my most favourite authors and that book is:

Shopaholic to the Stars - Sophie Kinsella

I have read all of Sophie's other books and loved them, so it is going to be a long wait until September when this one is released!!!

Blurb: Becky Brandon (née Bloomwood) has stars in her eyes. She and her daughter, Minnie, have joined husband Luke in LA-city of herbal smoothies and multimillion-dollar yoga retreats and the lure of celebrity. Luke is there to help manage the career of famous actress Sage Seymour-and Becky is convinced she is destined to be Sage's personal stylist, and go from there to every A-list celebrity in Hollywood! Red carpet here she comes! But things become complicated when Becky joins the team of Sage's arch rival without telling Luke. Will her ambition to make it in Hollywood cost too much?

Right to that's it, these are my 10 Summer Titles for this year that I am looking forward to reading, unfortunately non of these will be read during this read-a-thon but I am going away in August and hope to take some of these titles with me. 

Thanks for reading and now its back to #boutofbooks reading!!!


  1. I've been hearing about To All the Boys I've Love Before everywhere! I might have a bit of a soft spot for it, too, because the author is from my city ;)

    1. Oooh yes, maybe there will be references in the book from your city!!!

      I am really excited about it and hope to get my hands on a copy. Amazon here though are out of stock, may have a look over at the Book Depository!!